Thanksgiving

   

Hi All,

It’s technically Thanksgiving here but it sure doesn’t feel like it… I think this may be the most homesick I’ve felt since our move. I’ve spent the last 31 Thanksgiving with my family, that’s right I have never missed one! Even after Matt and I got married we would go to both our families on Turkey Day. If I were home right now I would be helping my mom in the kitchen, decorating the table and drinking a pumpkin spice latte. This is also the first time in the 7 years that Matt and I have been together that I won’t be spending Thanksgiving with my love. He is on a business trip to Sydney. I think not having him around is amplifying my homesickness by about 100%.

Now it’s not as bad as I’m making it out to be. Tonight I’m attending a Thanksgiving dinner with friends from Matt’s work (sans Matt so we will see how that goes).  I’m bringing my friend/former Microsoft colleague Keith who is currently living in India & is visiting Singapore this week. I’ll be making my mom’s AMAZING stuffing so as long as I don’t screw it up I will have a little taste of home during my first Singapore Thanksgiving. We have another Thanksgiving gathering on Saturday so Matt will at least get one Thanksgiving dinner.

To everyone back home, we miss you like crazy and hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

Big Hugs!

*The picture on the left is from our first Thanksgiving together & the one on the right is from last year.

One thought on “Thanksgiving

  1. Good morning Pieface and happy thanksgiving,

    Our home feels very empty and quiet this thanksgiving morning. This is the first time in over twenty years we are not getting the turkey ready to go in the oven packed full of that great stuffing.

    Our home will be empty today because our family will not be here and we are on our way to LA to be with Joshua, Tara and Tobin. It is still full of all the great memories we shared here together and this peaceful morning allows us to be truly be thankful for all the great memories.

    Emily, we are so thankful for many things in our life but none of them compare to how thankful we are for our children and now our grandson Tobin. You see family is what life is all about.

    We are thankful for the addition of Matt and his family to ours. We enjoy all the time we spend together with them and we could not have even dreamed of a better husband and life partner for you.

    We are thankful for the addition of Tara and her family and yes, we are over the top, thankful for our first grandchild Tobin. Tara has brought so much love and wisdom to our family and words cannot express how good of mother she is to Tobin.

    Today is the day to be thankful for our health, good memories form the past, what we have now, and the opportunities that lie ahead, but most of all, to be thankful for all the people in our lifes that have love and supported us.

    We miss you so much but the sadness goes away because December 4th is just around the corner.

    Love

    Mom and Dad

Leave a Reply

